Life Chasing the White Rabbit

While, I may be a little late compared to some bloggers with the whole New Year’s Blog thing, I don’t really have anything profound to say about 2010. Indeed, it was probably one of the most difficult, interesting, and fulfilling years I’ve had: My first gallery experience, my first large works (5×6 ft), finding a renewal in my belief in my artwork, creating work for others. I’ve finally come to grips with the idea that I’m an artist! But, with that being said, I don’t have some grand retrospective of 2010. I don’t like to look to the past.

What I’m really here for is to make a promise to myself, under the witness of any random internet passerby who is nice enough to stay and read this. I think,if I just put this in writing, I’ll be more likely to stick to it. Yep, that’s right, like many people out there, I’m making a New Year’s Resolution! This year, I’m gonna stay true to myself, make art, and surround myself with things and people who inspire me. That’s not to say that I’ll be casting anybody out–I’m not like that. I’ll just look harder to find the beauty in things and in life. That’s it. No big plans to lose 50 lbs this year or whatever (even though that is an ongoing resolution). I just want to make me happy so that I can do what I do better.

So, speaking of finding things that inspire me, my advisor has been awesome and pointed me to an artist that I instantly fell in love with: Mark Ryden!

I love the way he uses color and his backgrounds are lush and detailed; They can be  just a hair’s breadth away from being nightmarishly cute if not crossing the line, but that’s why I love him! 

The connection between nature and the girls he commonly depicts is really what intrigues me. Women are commonly associated with nature, especially in art, but these are just girls. They seem to interact with nature in an innocent and curious way–like they’re somewhat unaware of their connection to to nature except for the fact they can talk to trees or possible be eaten by them!Ryden’s strange sense of humor is also something that adds to the sheer perfection of his work too. While I love seriously beautiful work, I don’t like work that takes itself too seriously. =)

But that’s all about that for now. I could talk all day about this guy, but seriously, just Google image search “Mark Ryden” and look for yourself.

But, I do want to thank all the friends and family who have supported me all throughout 2010 and all my life before I sign off. The yellow rose  is a symbol of friendship. This is sort of like a small thank you for all you’ve done for me. Thanks Everyone!

So, I’m signing off now. Thanks for letting me ramble. Keep an eye out for periodic updates. Happy New Year and may this year be everything you hope for and more. =D

Comments on: "This new year is like a blank canvas, waiting for me to fill it with my story. So it begins…" (1)

  1. Good resolution! I didn’t make any this year, but maybe I’ll just adopt yours. I can totally see why you like Ryden–his style seems to be kind of similar to yours. Oh, and btw, yoga is *hard*. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

